Harrisburg Moot Court Team Wins Best Brief at 24th Annual Dean Jerome Prince Evidence Competition
Web Editor - Published: April 13, 2009
BestBriefHBGmootWinners"The Prince Competition features many of the top ranked law schools in the U.S. For any team to win best brief is a fantastic achievement; Matt and Megan were great,” said Professor John Capowski of the performance of the moot court team of Matthew Eyet and Megan Durr at the 24th Annual Dean Jerome Prince Evidence Competition.

In winning the Best Brief Award at the Brooklyn Law School competition, Matt and Megan were the best in a field of 36 teams that included teams from NYU, Hastings, Georgetown, and Cornell. The team also advanced to the quarterfinals of the competition, under the direction of alumna Jeni Pilgrim of the class of 2008. Professor Capowski served as the team’s faculty coach, while Pilgrim coached the team at the competition.

Professor Capowski noted, “This is Widener's first time winning best brief at Brooklyn, but this was the second time in the last three years that we were among the top eight teams overall. Jeni Pilgrim, Widener Harrisburg '08, who served as our alumni coach was on the team three years ago. Our students have been doing a great job competing among the best.” Because of the win, future Prince Competition programs will list Widener-Harrisburg among the winners of the Best Brief Award.

The entire Widener Law Community congratulates Megan and Matt on their wonderful accomplishment.