The First State Celebrates Constitution Day 2008

Essay Collection
Essays on the Presidency


Randall Balmer: Randall Balmer is a professor of American religious history at Barnard College, Columbia University. He is the author of God in the White House: How Faith Shaped the Presidency from John F. Kennedy to George W. Bush.

Senator Joseph R. Biden, Jr.: Senator Joseph R. Biden, Jr. has represented Delaware in the U.S. Senate since 1972. He is currently the Democratic candidate for Vice President.

Pete Du Pont: Pete du Pont was the Governor of Delaware from 1977 to 1984 and the State's Congressional Representative from 1971 to 1977. He was a Republican candidate for President of the United States in 1988.

Oval Office

Drewry Fennell: Drewry Fennell has been the Executive Director of the American Civil Liberties Union of Delaware since 2001.

Sanford Levinson: Sanford Levinson holds the W. St. John Garwood and W. St. John Garwood, Jr. Centennial Chair in Law at the University of Texas Law School. He is the author of Our Undemocratic Constitution: Where the Constitution Goes Wrong (And How We the People Can Correct It).

Robert Justin Lipkin: Robert Justin Lipkin is a professor at Widener University School of Law. He is the author of Constitutional Revolutions: Pragmatism and the Role of Judicial Review in American Constitutionalism.

Joseph Margulies: Joseph Margulies is a professor at Northwestern University School of Law. He has played a leading role in coordinating the nationwide litigation challenging the Bush Administration's post-9/11 detention policy.

Joseph Pika: Joseph Pika is the James R. Soles Professor in the Department of Political Science and International Relations at the University of Delaware. He is a co-author of The Politics of the Presidency.

Richard H. Pildes: Richard H. Pildes is the Sudler Family Professor of Constitutional Law at New York University School of Law. He is a co-author of The Law of Democracy: Legal Structure of the Political Process.