Awards Ceremony Honors Outstanding Students on the Delaware Campus
Web Editor - Published: April 15, 2013
With William J. Prickett Jr., his son William L. Prickett ’89, and members of Prickett, Jones & Elliot P.A. in attendance, student Nathan E. Barnett received the inaugural William J. Prickett Jr. Corporate Law Award at the annual Delaware campus Student Awards Ceremony held in the Ruby R. Vale Moot Courtroom on Wednesday, April 10th.

The annual graduation prize for outstanding achievement in corporate law is given to a graduating student who is preparing to take the Delaware Bar, and is funded by a generous gift from Prickett, Jones & Elliott P.A. that also created the William Prickett Corporate & Business Law Scholarship which will provide up to a year’s tuition annually for one highly qualified law student who has demonstrated academic excellence in both corporate law and civil procedure.

The William Prickett Corporate & Business Law Scholarship Fund honors William Prickett Jr., grandson of the firm’s founder and the third member of the family at the firm. Mr. Prickett’s longstanding association with Widener Law includes serving on the law school’s Board of Overseers in the 1990s and early 2000s, and as the proud father of 1989 graduate William L. Prickett.

“I am just delighted to welcome you all here this afternoon,” Dean Linda L. Ammons said as she opened the program, adding, “It is always an event I look forward to with great anticipation,” before thanking the students being honored for their hard work. She also thanked the parents, spouses, families, law school donors, and alumni in attendance for their many and varied contributions to the success of both the law school and its students.

Stephanie C. Blaisdell received the Dean’s Award, which is given annually to the graduating student who has demonstrated outstanding legal aptitude, exemplary service, significant leadership skills and the potential to become an outstanding member of the legal community.

The President’s Award, which is awarded to a second-year student who has demonstrated high scholastic achievement and possess high potential for meaningful future contributions to the law school, the community, and the profession, went to Ryan P. Cox. President James T. Harris III was on hand to present the award in person.

Patrice Turenne received the Dean’s Minority Student Scholarship.

A complete listing of the remaining awards follows.

Award Recipients

Alfred Avins Memorial Scholarship: Ryan P. Cox
Bank of America Scholarship: Brittany M. McCants
The Howard M. Berg Scholarship: Rachel L. Kemmey
The E. Wallace Chadwick Memorial Scholarship: Andrew M. Patrick and Ryan S. Watson
The Harvey Alan Chernoff Memorial Scholarship: Allen R. Thompson
The Esther F. Clark Memorial Scholarship: Erica L. Sharp
William Conner Memorial Scholarship: Matthew W. Murphy
The Honorable Joseph W. deFuria Scholarship: Megan A. Hunsicker
Delaware Association of Lawyers’ Spouses Scholarship: Courtney A. Emerson
The Honorable William Duffy Memorial Scholarship: Peter A. Galick
Friends of Widener University School of Law Scholarship: Nadiia S. Loizides
The Honey F. Golby Memorial Scholarship: Jade L. Morrison and Daniel J. Ritterbeck
Zelda K. Herrmann Memorial Scholarship: Beth H. Steinberg
The Honorable Ned L. Hirsh Memorial Scholarship: Michelle R. Kocher
The Fairfax Leary, Jr. Memorial Scholarship: Benjamin P. Chapple
Paul Isaac Leiter Memorial Scholarship: Ryan P. Cox
The Honorable Alan B. Levine Scholarship: Jaclyn E. Crittenden
Charles P. Mirarchi, Sr. Memorial Scholarship: Holly C. Frey
The Bruce M. and Elizabeth M. Monroe Endowed Scholarship: Christian Lapense and Daniel J. Ritterbeck
Angelina & Victor Piccone Memorial Scholarship: Mario M. Incollingo
Dean Anthony J. Santoro Scholarship: Marisa R. DeFeo
The Alexander V. Sarcione, Jr. Scholarship: Geena K. George
William I. Shaffer Meorial Scholarship: Allison J. Livezey
Lee & Dianne Solomon Scholarship: Sara Horatius
The Taishoff Family Endowed Scholarship: Perry A. Coolbaugh
Bernard S. Wildstein Scholarship: Jana R. DiCosmo

The Chadwick Constitutional Education Fellowship: Tiffany D. Coleman and Bruce A. Owens
The Domestic Violence Research and Advocacy Fellowship: Josephine A. Lee
The DuPont Public Interest Fellowships: Jennifer R. Perez and Carrie Ann Young
John F. Schmutz Corporate and Business Law Institute Fellowship: Benjamin P. Chapple
The Josiah Oliver Wolcott Fellowships: Nathan E. Barnett, Brian S. Eng, Brian L. McCarthy, Selena E. Molina, and Peter I. Tsoflias.

Commercial Bar Review Awards
Barbri of Pennsylvania and New Jersey: Jovin Jose
Kaplan PMBR: Jade L. Morrison
Themis Bar Review: Jessalyn L. Cool
Widener Delaware Bar Review: Jennette L. Von Bargen and Benjamin P. Chapple

Achievement Awards The Howard M. Berg Award: Peter I. Tsoflias
The William J. Conner Memorial Award for Administrative Law: Matthew W. Murphy
The Nicole Cullison Scholarship Award: Meghan L. Harp
The Honorable Joseph W. deFuria Commencement Award: Brian L. McCarthy
The Judge J. Cullen Ganey Criminal Procedure Award: Jade L. Morrison
The Graham Foundation Award: Aaron M. Nelson
GreenWatch Institute Scholarship Award in Memory of Jerry Shields: Julie E. Nugent
GreenWatch Institute Award in Memory of Charles J. Zencey: Justin D. Turner
The Reed Hamilton Memorial Award: Caitlin E. Lutz
The Zelda K. Herrmann Memorial Cup Award: Beth H. Steinberg
The Patricia N. Holston Memorial Award for Public Interest Pro Bono Service: Jennifer R. Perez
International Academy of Trial Lawyers Award: Jennifer A. Friend-Kelly
George B. Lindsay Foundation Award: Nathan E. Barnett and Eve Ledyard
The Thomas P. Lomax and Nicholas Theodore Memorial Award: Jessalyn L. Cool
The Lucinda Peipher Memorial Award: Elizabeth E. Alden
The Philadelphia Trial Lawyers Association James J. Manderino Award for Trial Advocacy: Jason R. Ploppert
The Alexander V. Sarcione, Jr. Memorial Award: Christopher S. D’Esposito
The Dean Arthur A. Weeks Outstanding Service Award: Vijaysen R. Yellareddigari
E. John Wherry Jr. Award: Jennifer A. Friend-Kelly and Clint L. Orem
William J. and Ella C. Wolf Award in Real Property Law: Jovin Jose
Charles J. Zencey Memorial Award: William J. Kassab
Outstanding Service Awards: Jana R. DiCosmo, Lori H. Edelman, Ebony J. Foster, Patrick J. Furlong, Peter A Galick, Kevin M. Krauss, Aaron M. Nelson, Clint L. Orem, Jennifer R. Perez, Staci J. Pesin, Nicole M. Sciotto, Beth H. Steinberg, Thomas M. Trettel, and Peter I. Tsoflias.