Widener Law Wins Best Brief Award at Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court National Final
Web Editor - Published: March 23, 2009
LefkowitzMootCourt“Winning the Dolores K. Hanna National Best Brief and Second Place in the Nation was an absolute honor and a wonderful way to culminate the last four months of work on the Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court Competition,” said 3rd year student Sylvia K. Siegel of her team’s success at the National Final. The team of Sylvia Siegel, Adrienne Robertson, and Angelina Freind took home the Dolores K. Hanna National Best Brief award and finished second overall at the National Final on Saturday, March 21st.

Teammate Angelina Freind, a 2nd year student, added, “The competition was a huge amount of work, but I am so thrilled to have been able to work with such a talented and dedicated group of ladies. This entire experience was a true group effort, and it is incredibly rewarding to be able to compete at such a high level and really test your limits.” Adrienne Robertson described the experience as “exhilarating, educational, personally fulfilling and academically gratifying.”

An annual competition organized by the International Trademark Association, the Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court Competition is unique as the only competition in the United States to focus on trademark and unfair competition law. Named in honor of former Trademark Trial and Appeal Board Chairman Saul Lefkowitz, the competition consists of four regional rounds, with the top team from each region advancing to the National Final Competition in Washington, D.C. The Dolores K. Hanna National Best Brief Award is named after the first female President of the International Trademark Association.

In addition to the Widener Law team, the National Final featured teams from University of the Pacific McGeorge School of Law, the University of Tennessee College of Law, and the University of Akron School of Law. The McGeorge team won the competition and received the First Place Oralist award as well. Four Administrative Trademark Judges from the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board and seven interlocutory attorneys from the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board served as the judges for the final round.

“Our coach, Professor Leslie Johnson, went above and beyond the call of duty in her dedication and devotion to our efforts and in her belief in us, and her contribution to our success cannot be emphasized enough,” said Robertson, with Siegel adding, “It would be impossible to not thank Professor Johnson for all that she’s done. She played a critical role in our success and I know that I personally have become a better advocate because of her.”

Freind called Professor Johnson “an integral part of the team,” and said, “We could never have achieved our success without her tireless support and all of the hours of practice she has shared with us. She has invested so much of her personal time to help us prepare. She was truly tireless in her commitment, firm but constructive in her critiques, and sincere in her happiness in our successes.”

Professor Johnson turned the praise back on the students, saying, “The Widener Law community owes an incredible debt of gratitude to these three young women for their outstanding brief writing and their excellent oral arguments. It was a thrill for me to be part of this awesome adventure. I couldn’t be more proud.”

The team members also expressed gratitude for the support shown by the entire Widener Law community. “Faculty members have been incredibly kind and supportive to us - sending us emails, commenting in class and pulling us aside in the halls to share their thoughts and congratulate us. It makes you feel good to be part of such a collegial atmosphere and know that the faculty are taking notice and being supportive of what you are doing,” said Angelina Freind, adding, “It was a wonderful honor to be able to represent Widener and function as ambassadors for the school.”  Echoing her teammate, Siegel observed, “I’m also so grateful for the support and encouragement the Widener community has given us throughout this journey!”

Summing up the experience, Adrienne Robertson noted, “The collaboration and team effort that was the bedrock of our preparation played a significant role in our success and taught us that, as a team, we are much greater than the sum of our parts.  Not only am I a better advocate as a result, but I have a new and profound appreciation for what we all have the capacity to achieve.”

Sylvia K. Siegel serves as the President of the Moot Court Honor Society and is an Associate Editor of the Widener Law Review. Angelina W. Freind is a member of the Moot Court Honor Society and the Treasurer of the Republican Law Caucus. Adrienne L. Robertson is a 2nd year Extended Division student balancing a full-time job with a family and school, and she too is a member of the Moot Court Honor Society.

Dean Linda Ammons and the entire Widener Law Community congratulate Sylvia, Angelina, Adrienne, and Professor Johnson on their wonderful accomplishment!