Georgetown Law Center Team Wins 25th Annual Ruby R. Vale Moot Court Competition
Web Editor - Published: March 18, 2013
The Georgetown Law Center team of Jeffrey DeSousa and Allyson Poulos defeated the Brooklyn Law School team of Andrew Ceppos, Tricia Lyons, and Graham Travaglini in the final round of oral arguments in the 25th Annual Ruby R. Vale Interschool Corporate Moot Court Competition held on Sunday, March 17th at Widener Law’s Delaware campus.

DeSousa also received the Award for Best Oral Advocate. The Michigan State University College of Law team of Jeffrey Hayden, Jeffrey Mann, and William Selesky won the Donald E. Pease Award for Best Brief.

The competition, named for well-respected corporate practitioner Ruby R. Vale, who lived in Milford, Del., attracted 19 teams from law schools around the country for a competition that began on Thursday, March 14th.

Senior U.S. District Judge Jed S. Rakoff of the Southern District of New York, the 2013 Ruby R. Vale Distinguished Scholar, served on the bench for the final round of the competition on Sunday. Delaware Supreme Court Justice Jack B. Jacobs and retired Justice Joseph T. Walsh as well as Delaware Court of Chancery Vice Chancellors J. Travis Laster and Sam Glasscock III joined Rakoff on the bench for the final round.

Associate Professor Paul L. Regan, the associate director of Widener’s Institute of Delaware Corporate & Business Law, authored this year’s competition problem, which focused on questions about the limits of “don’t ask/don’t waive” provisions in merger agreements as well as how to determine the applicable standard for judicial review when a controlling stockholder may be motivated by liquidity considerations not shared with stockholders generally.